Bahrain Merida Pro Cycling Team | Phil Bauhaus wins the ‘Coppa Bernocchi’
post-template-default,single,single-post,postid-20071,single-format-standard,ajax_fade,page_not_loaded,,wpb-js-composer js-comp-ver-5.0.1,vc_responsive


Phil Bauhaus wins the ‘Coppa Bernocchi’

  |   Press

Legnano (Italy), September 15th For the third year in a row the ‘Coppa Bernocchi’ goes to Team Bahrain Merida. After Sonny Colbrelli won it in 2017 and 2018, this time it was Phil Bauhaus to cross the finish line in Legnano (North Milan) with his arms raised.

“I’m super happy. Marcel Sieberg and Jan Tratnik did a very good job in the final and my legs were super good to finish it off” the German sprinter says after his first official win with TBM jersey “I had the pleasure to celebrate another success, at Adriatica Ionica Race, but it was on a not official criterium. Therefore, after several top five places that I took in this season, I was missing the victory until today and now I’m really proud to have taken it. I’m also proud to win this race, that my team won with Colbrelli in the past two editions. So, I can only wish to the team to win it for the fourth time next year”.

Traditionally the ‘Bernocchi’ suits pure sprinters, but with the circuit of the Valle Olona including the ‘Piccolo Stelvio’ ascent and the KOM of ‘Morazzone’ to repeat 6 times, it’s usually a challenging one anyway. “As it was in this edition too” Team Bahrain Merida Sports Director Alberto Volpi explains “After the breakaway of the day was caught with about 44km to go, there was another attack of 8 men including the European Champion Elia Viviani, one of the favourite today. Our guys contributed to work to chase them. We’re very satisfied with their performance today. It was not easy also due to the high temperatures and when it comes to the sprint you can never know. Thanks to a very good job from Sieberg and Tratnik, Bauhaus could take this nice one”.

Phil Bauhaus claimed the win ahead of Simone Consonni (UAE) 2nd and Damiano Cima (Nippo) 3rd.

(All pictures can be used for editorial and non commercial usages only and are copyright @Bettiniphoto @Team Bahrain Merida)