Bahrain Merida Pro Cycling Team | Matej Mohorič 4th at the shortened sixth stage of Catalunya
post-template-default,single,single-post,postid-14923,single-format-standard,ajax_fade,page_not_loaded,,wpb-js-composer js-comp-ver-5.0.1,vc_responsive


Matej Mohorič 4th at the shortened sixth stage of Catalunya

  |   Press

Volta Ciclista a Catalunya – Stage 6

Vielha Val D’Aran – Torrefarrera, 175,6km // 117 km

Torrefarrera, 24th March, 2018.

The sixth stage of the Volta Ciclista a Catalunya started today in La Pobla de Segur at 14:30 due to the bad weather conditions. Teams woke up in Vielha Val D’Aran in real winter conditions, with snow all around. The roads were not covered with snow but were still very wet and slippery. The shortened stage was mostly wet and the rain was very intensive up to the last 30 km when the tail wind started to increase.

Two riders, Maximillian Schachmann (Quick-Step Floors) and Diego Rubio Hernandez (Burgos BH), went into an early breakaway, and the peloton was mostly controlled by Michelton-Scott, Bora Hansgrohe and Movistar teams. TBM got together to the front at the last 20 km. Before that Valerio Agnoli, Enrico Gasparotto and Domen Novak were exchanging in the front of the group, taking the roles they’re good at and be ready to pull out, if possible, one of our riders for the sprint.

Schachmann and Rubio Hernandez managed to keep the gap due to the tail wind and the chasers didn’t manage to catch the leading duo.

Maximillian Schachmann (Quick-Step Floors) took the victory over Diego Rubio Hernandez (Burgos BH) and Sam Bennett (Bora Hansgrohe), the leader of the peloton that got to the 3rd place.

Matej Mohrič, TBM, held his position in the chasing group and in the end he managed to get another high result, the 4th place. Another high ranking for our excellent rider at Volta Ciclista a Catalunya!

Before tomorrow’s last, 7th stage of Volta Catalunya, that will take place in Barcelona (Montjuic)Alejandro Valverde (Movistar Team) has 16 seconds advantage in overall, ahead of Egan Bernal (Team Sky) and 26 seconds ahead of Nairo Quintana (Movistar Team).