Bahrain Merida Pro Cycling Team | Izagirre 3rd overall after the Green Mountain climb
post-template-default,single,single-post,postid-14450,single-format-standard,ajax_fade,page_not_loaded,,wpb-js-composer js-comp-ver-5.0.1,vc_responsive


Izagirre 3rd overall after the Green Mountain climb

  |   Press

Muscat, February 17th, 2018 – “I’m happy – smiles Gorka Izagirre – I earned a place in the overall and now I’m third. It is not over, though. Tomorrow will be another battle to defend the podium from the final assault of Jesus Herrada and Nathan Haas, who are behind me 2 and 4 seconds respectively “.

“Today on Green Mountain I defended myself rather well. It was not a climb that suited me and the pace of the two Astana riders was too high for me. I held out and climbed together with Herrada, who preceded me a few meters ahead of the finish line “.

As expected, the climb to Green Mountain has drawn a new general classification. The Colombian Miguel Angel Lopez won the stage in front of his teammate Alexey Lutsenko who conquered the GC first place. Our Gorka, today 4th, is now third in the GC with a 28” gap from the Kazakh rider. Vincenzo Nibali is now 12th and Giovanni Visconti 14th; placings that allow the Team  to be in second position in the Team Classification.

The sports director Gorazd Štangelj comments on the last stage: “The route is not so difficult, but those who want to aim for the podium should try to gain seconds in the two Sprint bonus and at the finish line. We will try to defend Gorka’s third place and for this we will have to be very careful all day long”.

Tomorrow the last stage of 135 km with the finish on the sea of Matrah Corniche. They will be the two bonus sprints that award 3,2,1 seconds – the first after 97 km and the last one 15 km from the finish line – that will make the race nervous, without forgetting the seconds of bonus (10,6,4) that will go to the first three riders who will cut the finish line first.

(All pictures attached can be used for editorial and non commercial usages only and are copyright protected – © Team Bahrain-Merida/ @BettiniPhoto)