Bahrain Merida Pro Cycling Team | Hola Andalusia – Strong and motivated TBM at Ruta del Sol 2019
post-template-default,single,single-post,postid-18069,single-format-standard,ajax_fade,page_not_loaded,,wpb-js-composer js-comp-ver-5.0.1,vc_responsive


Hola Andalusia – Strong and motivated TBM at Ruta del Sol 2019

  |   Press

Bahrain Merida Pro Cycling Team is looking forward to compete at the upcoming and exciting Ruta del Sol 2019, that will be held from 20 February to 24 February. Andalusian race in terms of GC, the five-day stage race will most likely have a punchy finale on day one, a hilly ITT halfway through the race, and the Queen Stage on its fourth stage with a downhill approach to Granada and the massive Alto de Hazallanas as the last climb and the extraordinary exciting moment of the day.

From all the teams and riders, definitely Tim Wellens, as a title defender and Alejandro Valverde, a local star, UCI World champion 2018 that won 5 GC titles of Ruta del Sol in the past decade will be a big challenge to TBM riders.

Rik Verbrugghe,  TBM Sports director has positive thoughts for the strong and motivated  lineup that will defend TBM colors; “Our leaders at Ruta del Sol will be Dylan Teuns and Matej Mohorič. Most important goal of the team will be to try to win at least a stage with all the riders of our team. I believe that every one of our team riders is capable for that”.

Dylan Teuns: “My first race of the season at Valenciana was really good for a start of the season and I had some good feelings. I’m looking forward to Ruta. It’s a really good race for me looking to the stages. Unfortunately I was a bit sick the last days so going into the race we have to look how it will go day by day”. 

Matej Mohorič: “Ruta del Sol will be the last preparation race for me before the first important goals of this season in March. I have trained well and I was happy with my condition in Volta a Comunitat Valenciana. I don’t expect myself to be at my best just yet, but I am looking forward to the race”.

TBM lineup:

Valerio Agnoli / Dylan Teuns / Ivan Cortina / Matej Mohorič / Mark Padun / Grega Bole / Luka Pibernik