Bahrain Merida Pro Cycling Team | At “Sanremo” with a high quality team
post-template-default,single,single-post,postid-14798,single-format-standard,ajax_fade,page_not_loaded,,wpb-js-composer js-comp-ver-5.0.1,vc_responsive


At “Sanremo” with a high quality team

  |   Press

Milan, 15 March 2018 – The Milano-Sanremo, scheduled for next Saturday, is raced on the classic route which has connected Milan to the Riviera di Ponente over the last 105 years, via Pavia, Ovada, Passo del Turchino, and then descending to the sea. From there, the route strikes many small towns on the coast reaching after two short climbs: Cipressa (5,6 long with a gradient of 4,1%) and Poggio di Sanremo (3,7 long, gradient 8% maximum). From the beginning of the climb there only 9km to go.

It’s a race, as sport director Alberto Volpi explains, “very fascinating because it would seem very easy but it can become very difficult. We have high quality riders like our leader Sonny Colbrelli, captain Vincenzo Nibali and the young Matej Mohoric, who won in Larciano 20 days ago “.

“Together with them – still Volpi – athletes who come from Paris-Nice or “Tirreno” as Pibernik, Haussler, Pellizotti and Koren that will give a great help along almost all 300 kilometers of the “Sanremo “.

Determined our Sonny: “It ‘one of the races that I like best and I still have the memory of last year when I could take an important result. At the “Tirreno” I was a bit braked by a light bronchitis but now it is much better “.

He does not feel the pressure Vincenzo Nibali: “I’ll be happy to return to Sanremo where in 2012 I finished third. It’s not a proper route for me, but it’s a race that you need to know how to interpret meter by meter. The unknown factor is the weather, the rain would affect a long and tiring race like the “Classicissima”.

TBM line-un for Milano-Sanremo: Sonny Colbrelli, Kristijan Koren, Heinrich Haussler, Matej Mohoric, Vincenzo Nibali, Luka Pibernik and Franco Pellizotti

(All pictures attached can be used for editorial and non-commercial use) – © Team Bahrain-Merida / @BettiniPhoto)