Bahrain Merida Pro Cycling Team | Team BAHRAIN MERIDA to Critérium du Dauphiné
post-template-default,single,single-post,postid-19167,single-format-standard,ajax_fade,page_not_loaded,,wpb-js-composer js-comp-ver-5.0.1,vc_responsive


Team BAHRAIN MERIDA to Critérium du Dauphiné

  |   Press

A pretty new course awaits the riders on the upcoming Critérium du Dauphiné – eight stages from June 9th to 16th. In fact, the route of the 71stedition of the race, that everyone knows as a foretaste of the Tour de France, will feature some new roads and places, as the start, that for the very first time will take place in the French region of Cantal, with peloton tackling the climbs of the Massif Central.

“We head to Dauphiné with two main aims: to do well on the sprinters’ stages and to fight for the General Classification” Team Bahrain Merida Sports Director Vladimir Miholjević explains “In fact, there are three days that suit Sonny Colbrelli, seen that also the opening stage features a favourable terrain for puncheurs and not pure sprinters, with a bumpy final circuit. Then our focus will be on the overall with Dylan Teuns. Both riders had just spent two weeks on Teide – together with Mark Padun and Jan Tratnik – and they are in good form. They will also test themselves after the altitude training camp ahead of the upcoming Tour de France”.

In addition to stages for sprinters and for climbers – with the final three days on the Alps – there will be also a 26.1km hilly individual time trial. “Our specialist Jan Tratnik prefers a more regular course, but he will fight for a good result as well” Miholjević adds “First of all we hope that he will still wear his National Champion skinsuit on that day”. In fact, the Slovenian rider is the reigning time trial National Champion and tomorrow he’s going to defend his title in Ljubljana. Also another Bahrain Merida rider, the Slovenian Road National Champion Matej Mohorič will compete in the time trial National Championships tomorrow.

Team BAHRAIN MERIDA line-up for Critérium du DauphinéSonny Colbrelli, Chun-Kai Feng, Mark Padun, Hermann Pernsteiner, Luka Pibernik, Dylan Teuns, Jan Tratnik.